Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains links to video tutorials that cover both basic & advanced search techniques for the major Library subscription databases.
The Library offers free training sessions to all staff. All sessions are fully customisable.
Please send us an to request a training session. email
EJS (EBSCOhost Journals Service)
Mostly text-based, but with some video tutorials
These videos may not work using the version of Chrome we have on WA Health workstations. If you have any trouble, try Microsoft Edge.
Ovid Basic Search
This class covers all aspects of the Basic Search Mode in Ovid. A series of examples are used to demonstrate the effectiveness of the Basic Search function (this is not just for beginners but also for more advanced users). Natural Language, Related Terms and Relevancy are discussed in detail during this session.
Introduction to Medline on Ovid
The course will highlight the unique structure of this database (including MeSH and the Tree) and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
Special Techniques in Medline on Ovid
Learn more about searching using the NLM’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), floating subheadings, and implementing specific limits such as clinical queries, MEDLINE, Publication types and Limits.
Introduction to EMBASE on Ovid
Course highlights the unique structure of this database (including Emtree and the Thesaurus) and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
EMBASE Advanced Techniques on Ovid
Learn more about searching using Emtree, floating subheadings, and implementing specific limits such as clinical queries, MEDLINE, Publication types and conference materials.
Introduction to APA PsycInfo on Ovid
This class highlights the unique structure of this database and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
Introduction to Journals@Ovid
This course provides a detailed demonstration of Browsing and Searching Your Journals or All Ovid Journals, viewing HTML & PDF Full Text, working with graphics, and linking to resources.
ABI/INFORM Collection (1971 - current)
Coronavirus Research Database
Nursing & Allied Health Premium Public Health Database
Publicly Available Content Database
Elsevier Science Direct search