Knowing where and what to search are just as important as understanding how to search. A journal database may not be the right source for finding the information to answer your question. The databases and resources here are not intended to be exhaustive lists, but to get you thinking about where the evidence can be found in your discipline
This section identifies the best library journal subscription databases to search, organised by subject
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books as well as citations for In-process and ahead of print articles
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database. Fields covered include drug research, pharmacology, toxicology, clinical & experimental human medicine.
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books as well as citations for In-process and ahead of print articles
This database provide comprehensive and trusted scholarly, peer-reviewed literature in nursing and allied health
This database offers reliable, comprehensive full-text coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more
Formerly known as the Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence-Based Practice database, the database includes a comprehensive range of over 5,000 clinical point-of-care resources, including best practice information sheets, evidence summaries, recommended practices, systemic review protocols, and systemic reviews
PubMed Search Filters
Developed by The Lowitja Institute, this search tool provides easy access to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health literature in the PubMed database.. You can choose to look at all literature or one of 27 search topics. You can refine each choice by entering keywords, filter options and published dates
The journal databases are not the only place to search for research to support policy development or clinical practice. The resources listed here are to get you to think about the non-traditional places where evidence can be found in your discipline
Public Administration
Have you considered:
