Mpox (monkeypox) pathfinder

This 2-page quick reference tool provides guidance about monkeypox (mpox) and can be used when making decisions on who to test, mpox management, and vaccination protocols.| ASHM (Australasian Society for HIV, Viral Hepatitis and Sexual Health Medicine).

A treatment algorithm for acute care: Suspected or confirmed infection: mild or uncomplicated disease; and Suspected or confirmed infection: Severe or complicated disease, or at increased risk for severe disease or complications.

Guidelines for pregnant individuals with monkeypox virus exposure.These recommendations should be adapted to local guidelines and updated as more information arises. | Dashraath P, Nielsen-Saines K, Mattar C, et al. Guidelines for pregnant individuals with monkeypox virus exposure. Lancet. 2022 Jul 2;400(10345):21-22. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(22)01063-7

Covers: Agent of disease; Transmission; Clinical manifestations; Risk assessments; Diagnosis; Management and treatment; Reporting an adverse reaction to a vaccination; Infection, prevention and control; Surveillance; Evidence; Webinars about mpox; and Additional resources. | PHAC's (Public Health Agency of Canada)

Covers: Risk of mpox (monkeypox) spreading between people and animals; Animals susceptible to mpox (monkeypox); Pets and mpox (monkeypox); Signs of mpox (monkeypox) in animals; and Testing for mpox (monkeypox) in animals. | PHAC (Public Health Agency Canada).

ECDC's fact sheet covers clinical features; epidemiology; transmission; diagnostics; case management and treatment; public health control measures; and infection control. | EU ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control).

Covers: epidemiology; transmission; clinical features; diagnosis; treatment;; infection prevention and control.

This fact sheet covers: key facts; overview; transmission; signs and symptoms; diagnosis; treatment and vaccination; self-care and prevention; outbreaks; and WHO's response. | WHO (World Health Organization).

ASHM (Australasian Society for HIV, Viral Hepatitis and Sexual Health Medicine) resource.

ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control).

Covers: What is mpox; How does it spread?; What are the symptoms?; What treatments are available?; Medicines; What to expect in the future.

ASHM's (Australasian Society for HIV, Viral Hepatitis and Sexual Health Medicine) mpox information page. Coverage includes latest alerts; Mpox explained; Mpox in Australia and New Zealand; Clinical management; Medical images of mpox; Mpox vaccination; Community information and lived experience; Webinars and Education; and Mpox briefing papers.

ASHM's (Australasian Society for HIV, Viral Hepatitis and Sexual Health Medicine) toolkit provides a range of resources as guidance for clinicians around monkeypox (mpox) case definitions, testing, treatment, contract tracing and vaccination. Some of the resources in this toolkit have been sourced from external organisations and government departments.

AAD (American Academy of Dermatology Association) has assembled resources on mpox (monkeypox), including guidance on recognizing mpox infection, resources on treatment and pain, and an mpox registry to gather information on dermatologic manifestations of the disease.

Contents: Introduction; Demographics; Signs and symptoms; Diagnosis; Differential diagnoses; Treatment; and Prognosis. | DermNet is the world’s leading free dermatology resource and has been created for healthcare professionals to serve as a comprehensive evidence-based database of skin conditions. DermNet is supported by the New Zealand Dermatological Society (NZDSI).